Monday, July 21, 2014

Four languages curricula made available in the Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has today made available Australian Curriculum for four languages: Chinese, French, Indonesian and Italian for Foundation – Year 10 – see

The curricula for the four languages are awaiting endorsement from the Education Council (formerly known as the Standing Council on School Education and Early Childhood), but as per a decision taken by the Council, the curricula are now available for states and territories to use in schools in their jurisdictions.

The remaining languages, including the Framework for Aboriginal Languages and Torres Strait Islander Languages, Arabic, German, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish and Vietnamese are currently under development. Funding for the additional languages – Turkish, Hindi, AUSLAN, and Classical Greek and Latin – has been provided by the Australian Government. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.